skip navigation

Team and Player Awards Announced at 2012 Banquet

By, 12/14/12, 4:45PM EST


Great crowd recognizes season's accomplishments

MARIETTA - The Sprayberry Football family held its annual banquet on Monday, December 8, 2012.  A crowd of more than 500 recognized the accomplishments of Freshmen, Junior Varsity, and Varsity football players at Piedmont Church in Marietta.  The event was co-sponsored by California Dreaming.

Head Coach Billy Shackelford, Master of Ceremonies for the event, announced the following four players as 2012 Team Captains (as elected by teammates):

Kyle Thomas, Sr. (204 votes)
Derrik Johnson, Jr. (109 votes)
Corey Cooper, Sr. (76 votes)
Shane Young, So. (59 votes) awards and announces via its 'Jacket Buzz' news (and on the Overall, Offensive, and Defensive Players of the Game -- as well as any number of other Standout Performers -- for each game throughout the season. 

The Sprayberry Coaching Staff awards its own Players of the Week during the course of the season, and the following recipients were anounced at the banquet:

Week Offensive Defensive Special Teams
1 Rakeem Myricks Torrey Richardson Rickey Dover
2 Torrey Richardson Atuan Johnson Rodrigo Blankenship
3 Shane Young Keith Hampton Hank Harris / Rodrigo Blankenship
4 Franztlou Daphnis Charles Cook Hank Harris
5 Shane Young Torrey Richardson Rodrigo Blankenship
6 Corey Cooper Derrik Johnson Rickey Dover
7 Shane Young / Miles Wallace Torrey Richardson Rodrigo Blankenship
8 Corey Cooper Keith Hampton Eric Wells
9 Shane Young Malik Young Miles Wallace